Internet · Social Media · Social Network · Web

Reasons why I quitted Facebook

Social media has become the first communication method used nowadays. People don’t need phone numbers anymore, not even to text! Facebook has played a huge part on how humans socialize. I remember being a teenager on the early 2000 when MySpace was popular (at least until Facebook came along), most people talked on chat rooms and forum communities.

I still remember the day I decided to join Facebook, I logged out my account and let it sit for a few weeks. I did not liked the layout and I thought it was boring (not many people had switched from MySpace yet and there wasn’t much to do on the site). Soon most of my friends swapped to the new thing so I did.

 

Business-Does-Not-Need-Facebook-Page

 

Do not get me wrong, Facebook could be beneficial if you travel a lot or have family and friends (I mean real friends! Friends that you actually met in person and care about). But suddenly I found myself running into the these problems:

Friend Request from fake profiles: I am not sure if it still a thing, but back then there were a competition of who has more friends in the profile. This made a lot of people to create fake profiles to add regular users just to proof they could have thousands of “friends”. Also many from high school that never cared about me where trying to get on my profile. My question was “why?” as I declined them.

Privacy: Everything became public all the sudden. I can’t tell when it became acceptable to post or comment about every little thing in your life. From what you ate for dinner (which I am guilty of that: check out my instagram page btw 💪) to a narration of the battle you had sitting on the toilet bowl.

Lack of conversations in real life: As I mentioned before, social media changed how we communicate with our fellow friends and family members. Many times I found myself in gatherings of meeting were face to face conversations were almost impossible to have.

“Did you know that I went on vacation last week” – me

“Yes, I seen it on Facebook” – friend lady

*End of conversation*

Sometimes I debate if is Facebook or if is that we do not care or like to make any effort to interact with others. But anyways, I will blame it on Facebook.

Drama: Suddenly all the Soap opera drama was available to us on our News Feed. To me it was a little disturbing, especially at the beginning, but then it became part of my daily entertainment. Very addicting and dangerous, this was one of the main reason I gave up Facebook. I was spending more time on other people’s business, and forgot how life was out of the News Feed.

Violence and morbidness: I swear some people enjoy to damage others, and unfortunately Facebook became a tool for those who employs it. Fights, people degrading others, even rape has shown on the site. Yes, I can be reported so the it can be taken down. I rather not being part of it at all. If I am against watching the news because of the negativity of this world, why would I watch it on my feed?

Today, I try to spend more time with my family. I know they (my babies and husband) are my priority. Is still care about everybody I allowed on my Facebook profile, now they just have to call me to learn how my vacation was. There is time in life for the people I care about.

This is just my opinion,

Mrs B’s opinion!

Leave a Reply

